If you hate your job, quit

Seriously. Quit right now. Or at least start looking RIGHT NOW.

If you’ve tried to make it work, and you still hate Sundays because they lead to Monday, and hate Saturdays because they lead to Sunday, work is taking over your life–or what’s left of it. If you’ve tried to make it work and it isn’t, it probably won’t get better. And it may actually get worse. If you’re certain that the problem isn’t you, but your job, or your boss, or your co-workers, or the environment you’re in, it’s not your fault if you concede defeat and move on. But it is your fault if you stay and continue to concede defeat every day of your working life.

Now, it may just be that you’re having a bad day. If that’s the case, wait. If tomorrow’s just as bad, or even worse, wait. But if the good days have become an anomaly, don’t wait another minute.

Quit. Or at least start looking for something new. Now.

I’m not trying to encourage people to risk their ability to support their families, but I also hate seeing people continue to do work that kills their spirit, brings out the worst in them, and ultimately prevents them from doing the things they’re truly capable of. And it’s also probably hurting your family more than you realize. Supporting your family, after all, is about more than bringing home a paycheck. And it’s probably not worth whatever you’re being paid.

If this sounds familiar, start looking for something new. NOW. If you believe in yourself and your abilities, you can do better than a job that sucks, and sucks the life out of you. It might be hard for a while, but it’s hard now anyway. Move forward instead of staying put.

And by “move forward,” I mean “quit.” Now if you can. As soon as possible if now isn’t possible. But don’t wait another day. If you think it’s time, it’s time.┬áNo one is stopping you except you. Good luck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If you hate your job, quit

  1. Mary Popovich says:

    I’ve been there and done that. That’s why I made a career move in 2007 and it was the best thing I could have done (maybe not financially, but it sure was good for the psyche).

  2. Amber Recker says:

    Great advice. I can attest to what a “soul sucking” job can do to someone. My husband worked for a corporation for 18 years. He loved it at first, but over the years, as things became more politicized and his morals were constantly challenged, he needed to move on. It was killing him… and would have eventually killed us. It was scary at first losing that income, but we’ve learned to live more simply. We go without weekly visits to our favorite martini bar. We cook at home. We rent Red Box movies. We planted a garden. And now, my husband is going back to school so that he can finally be what he wants to be when he grows up. We couldn’t be happier.

  3. marc-alain reviere says:

    I agree with you Anthony, and that’s exactly what I did in 2007 – not because I hated my job or company but because I felt like I wasn’t being challenged in the ways I needed to be.

    Well let me tell you what, in short time I got every bit of challenge I was looking for and then some! So today I may not be as liquid or financially flexible as I was before but I earned an advanced degree and started a business. In the process, I became what I call recession-proof and trained myself to see beauty in constraints.

    Life’s too short to not be happy and … in the words of Anthony Robbins, “When would now be a good time?”

    Thanks for the read!

  4. Pingback: Don’t forget to have fun « Wordsmatter

  5. Coley Arnold says:

    Anthony,

    Excellent insight. This is exactly what I did early in 2010, so I can definitely relate to what you are writing about. I was the poster child for this article. The job I had was turning me into someone I did not want to be and it affected every facet of my life. I think the only time I was ever in a decent mood was maybe Saturday afternoon, but then when Sunday hit, I would become distant and very, very grumpy. So I decided that the income that the job was producing was not sufficient enough to allow it to do to me what it was doing, so I quit. It was definitely a scary decision, but I am very glad that I did. It has allowed me to pursue a career in an area that I am passionate about and basically work for myself.

Leave a Reply

