How to see what others see when they view your Facebook profile

During the past few weeks, stories like this one have given Facebook users a higher sense of urgency about what they share with others. That’s a good thing. One problem, however, is that it can be difficult to know how different privacy settings truly affect your profile.

If you have limited experience with your Facebook privacy settings, one of the best things you can do to protect yourself is to simply be aware of what others can see when they view your profile. And Facebook provides you with a tool that makes doing so very, very easy.

Here’s how you access it:

1. Log in to Facebook and go to your profile page

2. On your profile, look for the “gear” icon next to “Update Info” and “Activity Log”


3. Click on the gear, then select “View As…” from the drop down menu


4. Click on the “public” link to see how your profile appears to those with whom you’re not connected…

5. Or, type in a friend’s name to see what your profile looks like when that┬áspecific┬áperson views it

That’s it. Once you know what others see when they view your profile, you can make informed decisions about how to adjust your privacy settings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to see what others see when they view your Facebook profile

  1. Fiatagata Roberts says:

    cant even view my profile page or home..not even my notification.

  2. mauricejj says:

    Great info. Just changed my settings. Now my old stuff won’t be accessible.

  3. justajayke says:

    I really want to thank you for this. I had an experience where someone started talking to me because I commented on a friend’s page and I had my suspicions about him so I wanted to see what he could see on my profile. Very helpful. Thank you

  4. Ramakant chaudhary says:

    This is good 2 know

Leave a Reply

