My personal social media strategy

With all the social media tools available to us today, it’s important to know what you’re trying to accomplish, and what tools you’ll use to help you reach your goals. That’s why I’ve developed a simple personal social media strategy that helps me decide where to spend my time.

My social media strategy begins with an acceptance that I can’t do it all, and that some tools are more aligned with my objectives than others. And it’s centered around a few specific objectives:

– Obtain more consulting/speaking opportunities
– Achieve top-of-mind awareness in northeast Indiana among marketing and communication professionals
– Access new, relevant contacts

To that end, I focus the majority of my efforts on this blog and LinkedIn. I use four other tools to support those larger objectives: SlideShare, VisualCV, Delicious and Twitter. What’s left out (Facebook, Foursquare, etc.) is as important as what’s included. If I’m on Facebook, for example, I know that it’s probably not going to help me achieve any of my professional goals. There’s nothing wrong with goofing off, as long as I acknowledge that I’m goofing off.

I’ve taken this so far as to map it out, with large circles representing the majority of my time (with specific benchmarks/tactics listed for each), and the small circles representing tools that play a supportive role. Here’s my map:

What does yours look like?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

