Always bring something to read

You never know when you’re going to have an extra 15 minutes. The person you’re meeting is running late. The drive didn’t take as long as you thought it would. The line is longer than you ever thought possible. When this happens, some people play Angry Birds–and there’s nothing wrong with that. But I’d rather read a blog post, a few pages of a book, or a magazine article. Maybe even proofread a piece of my own writing, or someone else’s. You can get a lot done in 15 minutes, and you may just learn something that will pay dividends for months, or even years.

There’s always something new to know. You don’t often have extra time, so when you do, be prepared. Always bring something to read. Always.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Always bring something to read

  1. I limit my smartphone apps to those based on productivity for the same reasons. I will either review what is in my RSS reader, listen to instructional/motivational podcasts, open instructional videos or speeches on Youtube, create a cinchcast, take some notes, or even use something like thinking space (android) to create a mind map. If I’m taking a long or even daily commute I frequently listen to podcasts and speeches rather than music. I like my saw extra sharp.

  2. ajjuliano says:

    And as a result, there are few sharper saws in the ol’ intelligence shed. That and the fact you don’t sleep.

  3. Nancy McCammon-Hansen says:

    As someone who reads A LOT (I’ve known people who read while they drive but I draw the line at that!) I totally agree. 15 minutes here and there can make for greater efficiency. Now please tell my husband that taking a book to the ball park or the movies makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

