A shorter signature

Here’s what my email signature used to look like:

My goal was to be helpful; to provide my contacts with a variety of ways to get in touch with me. After thinking it through, though, I realized it probably was too much. In trying to tell my contacts everything, I wasn’t really telling them anything.

Now, my signature looks like this:

A few things motivated this change:

1. My strong sense that few people need my street address or mailing address, and that the ease of finding it on the web outweighs the value of including it with every email.

2. My desire to reroute callers to my mobile phone due to my use of PhoneTag and the greater likelihood they’ll reach me at that number.

3. My longstanding belief that less is more.

Things like this are usually matters of preference more than matters of right and wrong, but I’m interested in your take. What do you include in your email sig, and why? What have seen that you like–and hate?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A shorter signature

  1. Tammy Davis says:

    Why include your email addy in your sig if this is in an email (from you) anyway? Still thinking about a better way to handle all the real estate the LinkedIn connection is taking. I’m with you–less is more.

  2. ajjuliano says:

    Thanks for your comment, Tammy. One thought: you could embed a link to your LinkedIn profile (I think that’s not intuitive enough, but I could be wrong).

  3. Nathan says:

    What are your thoughts on signatures that are images, but include all the pertinent information?

  4. Andy says:

    I tend to agree with Agency Byte on that. I love the colorful simplicity of the Asher logo, but I already know what it looks like. (-:

    I end my email signatures with this:

    Find me on LinkedIN or Twitter. It’s simple, text-based, and your emailees will realize it’s a link!

    And BOOM goes the dynamite.

    • ajjuliano says:

      Ah, but young Andy, you also already know what the Starbucks and McDonald’s and Coca-Cola and Target logos look like, too. And they’re probably not going to miss an opportunity to register an impression with you, right? :^)

  5. Robert Croft says:

    Great discussion Anthony. I’ve been playing around with this as well. I’ve had consistent issues recently with my email being blocked by a client’s provider, while my business partner’s email goes through without problem. The only difference is signature block…I was including logo image, plus links to website, LinkedIn and Twitter. Makes me wonder if the extra links are tipping hypertight spam filters that base decision on accruing points (image to download, multiple hyperlinks: company website, linked in, twitter). And if I have a file attachment, even worse. So, I’ve reverted to dropping all active links from signature and listing twitter and LI handles instead…
    Linkedin.com/in/RobertNCroft
    Twitter: @RobertNCroft
    I know it is an extra step to someone connecting, but if my email doesn’t get through in the first place…

    Of course, the issue may not be related to the active links at all.

    In regard’s to Andy’s thoughts on logo…I only include logo in my “compose” signature, not in reply signature. For a small company like ours, I tend to think having a logo in the signature, especially in a new dialogue with a potential client may add a little depth to their initial perception on credibility…ie we may feel like the big boys like Asher!

    • Andy says:

      Robert, what kind of schmancy email client do you have that differentiates between “compose” signatures and “reply” signatures? That’s neato.

      • Robert Croft says:

        It’s a nifty tool in Outlook… Tools>Options>Mail Format>Signatures. You can create multiple signatures…I think the default has two: “Full Signature” or “Short Signature”…and then assign use, like compose, reply, forward, etc. So, if you also manage multiple email accounts within Outlook…you can create signatures for each of those there as well. Once you create signatures with assigned use, those signatures automagically appear in the scenario, but you also can insert any previously created signature from toolbar.

      • Robert Croft says:

        Whoops, I forgot your a Mac person…I’m using Outlook, I don’t know of any third party apps or the means within say GMail mail to do this, but they may well be there. Maybe same process as I described with Outlook…in settings, tools, etc.

  6. I use WiseStamp to create a couple different signature options that works with my Gmail in Firefox, Chrome or Safari. http://www.wisestamp.com/ Also has the no signature option.

  7. We finally were able to get the concept of greater simplicity through the right channels and have re-formated our email signatures. This was not only for readability and an overall cleaner look, but in response to the increased open rate of emails on mobile devices.

    We do normally advocate logo use in “compose” and exclusion in “reply” as well, however we like to relegate the logo and social icons to below the primary signature which is all text. We also do not specify height on images to keep them from holding open the window when the images has not been accepted for viewing yet.

    I do include my email in this block as well for the simple reason that some email clients make you jump through hoops to “grab” just the text. Outlook is an example of that. That is a personal choice because I frequently grab emails myself for inserting into searches for social, like LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

