How I prepared for my TEDx Fort Wayne talk

I’ve received a lot of great feedback on my TEDx Fort Wayne talk, “Accessibility: Fort Wayne’s Competitive Advantage”. It seems to have struck a nerve, and hearing that has been very rewarding. I put a lot of work and thought into it, and it’s always nice when that gets noticed.

As someone who teaches public speaking, I think it’s important to share why I think it worked. While my presentation wasn’t even close to perfect, there’s one thing I think I did right, one secret that pulled the whole thing together, one tip I have for others looking to improve their presentations. So, why do I think my TEDx talk went well?

I practiced. A lot.

If you make presentations, this is the one thing you can’t ignore. Nothing will ensure your success more than practice, and nothing will ensure your failure more than a lack of practice (I know that from experience, too).

For more about the importance of practice, read Lisa Braithwaite’s comments on the Speak Schmeak blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How I prepared for my TEDx Fort Wayne talk

  1. I appreciate this bit of advice; however, I do things a bit differently. I find that knowing the material is my best bet for success- so a different kind of practicing. I cannot practice a composed speech or presentation- that’s when I stumble… I do much better without a script, and instead a bullet pt list of things I must cover.

  2. ajjuliano says:

    Great point Amber, and it leads to a clarification: I NEVER use a script. Or notes. My goal in practicing is simply what you stated: to know the material. To know it so well that I don’t need a script, but leaving enough leeway to adapt as the audience dictates. I let my slides guide me, but it’s never the same presentation twice.

  3. Thanks for the clarification. Great advice!

Leave a Reply

