Get outside

On August 16, I’ll be presenting “The Social Media Soundtrack: Ten Great Songs that Remind Us What’s Most Important” at Cancer Services of Northeast Indiana. I haven’t finalized the song list yet (I’m close), but there’s one likely to be on the list that may seem like an odd choice: “Get Outside” by Robert Palmer.

Have a listen (and be patient…it’s a slow burn):

So what, you may ask, does this song have to do with social media? Here’s the thing: it doesn’t, except to serve as a reminder that there’s more to life than social media. And that’s what makes it worth your attention.

The lyrics may speak to anyone who’s ever found themselves too engrossed in social media–perhaps at the expense of important work, family time or just the chance to enjoy a perfect, sunny, windows-down-and-the-radio-on kind of day:

If you can’t decide what you wanna do
If you can’t stand what people say to you
If you can’t see when your eyes are open wide
If you ask yourself what your doing and there’s no reply

Get outside

Now don’t get me wrong: I’m a big believer in the power of social media. I wouldn’t spend time on this blog if I wasn’t. And I don’t want anyone to stop reading my blog or connecting with me on LinkedIn, Google Plus, SlideShare, etc., of course. But I also want all of us to remember that social media should enhance your life, not be your life.

So, indulge me a little (today’s my birthday, after all). The weather’s great. The summer’s flying by. Take some time this weekend to log off. Disconnect. Get outside.

See you Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get outside

  1. franklinelectric says:

    Great advise as usual. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

