An idea for GMail

I’m a huge, huge, huge GMail fan. Every day, it helps me stay productive and stay connected. In fact, I often “talk to myself” on GMail, emailing myself reminders, ideas and chunks of blog posts.

I know there are other tools specifically designed for this. I’ve tried “Remember the Milk” (meh). I have a “Notes” file in my phone, but that’s more for things I need to remember always, not just once. And I keep a pretty OCD to-do list, but that’s no substitute, either.

Notes to self by thor is a laptop on Flickr

That’s why I think there’s one simple addition that would make GMail even better: a “note to self button.” One click, and it automatically populates with my email address. Simple, but a huge time saver over the long run. It would be especially useful for mobile, for those 2 a.m. brainstorms and 2 p.m. stoplight epiphanies.

I see it as kind of like what the “I’m feeling lucky” button used to be on the Google search engine: a fun, quirky hack that adds value.

If you like this idea, please comment/share/RT/repost/etc. I probably can’t get to the people at Google by myself, but maybe we can, together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An idea for GMail

  1. I’m up for this idea. I’d probably save some serious cash on post its. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    I am not sure about a desktop shortcut, but if you have a Droid phone, you can create yourself a shortcut to yourself that when you click it the window that opens is an email to you.

  3. Tammy Davis says:

    Great idea! I send emails to myself, but that is such a clunky method. There’s got to be a better way!

  4. Andy W. says:

    You submitted it to Google Labs, right? There is that little feature at the bottom of Labs to suggest a feature.

    I know that Google Labs is being phased out, however, so it may not be around for long!

  5. I agree this would be a nice addition to Gmail. Let’s get it done.

  6. John says:

    I like this! What I do, if I’m out for a jog/walk and have an idea, is text myself to my Google Voice number. Then it populates my phone’s text inbox, my Google Voice inbox, and my Gmail inbox. I can’t possibly lose it then, right?

    Also, if you like my idea for a Gmail widget (something to help us communicate across various hpBB forums, niche social networks, websites, anywhere you get messages), please comment on my post! I am a member of 10+ various niche sites, and I have to log into each one separately to get my messages and stay in touch with people who are members of these different sites. I envision that a Gmail widget could bring all my messages to one place – my Gmail account. Here is the link:
    http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/gmail/thread?tid=7adfa5c9e4e0f6b4&hl=en

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

