What’s New on LinkedIn, Extra Credit Edition, in Which There is Swearing: The New LinkedIn Profile

Image from TechCrunch.com

Shortly after I started writing this week’s series of posts about recent changes to LinkedIn, I read this quote from LinkedIn CEO Jeff Weiner in Forbes:

“Coming soon, the biggest change in the history of the Linkedin profile. I couldn’t be more excited about it. Stay tuned.”

I had two simultaneous thoughts:

  • Cool–that sounds great! And what perfect timing! I’m going to be talking about changes to LinkedIn this week anyway.
  • Shit! I’m having enough trouble keeping up with the changes as it is!

Isn’t that the way it is with social media, though? The minute you think you have a handle on it, something else changes.

Well, the truth is, there’s not much to say about the forthcoming changes that hasn’t already been said on the LinkedIn blog and sites like TechCrunch–at least not yet. I will add a couple of thoughts, though:

  • The new LinkedIn profile seems to be a HUGE improvement aesthetically–and it reflects a larger trend in social media, where images are becoming more important (somewhat at the expense of text)
  • This is big–bigger than any of the other changes I’ve discussed this week, in fact, since it affects all users.

I’ll share more thoughts after I’ve converted over to the new profile. If you’re interested in making the switch sooner than later, you can request an invitation here.

Tomorrow, I’ll get back to the regularly-scheduled programming with a look at LinkedIn’s enhanced integration with Outlook. Read my earlier posts about LinkedIn’s recent changes here, herehere, and here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

