My (somewhat unsophisticated) standards for connecting online

“You’re invited” by anetz on Flickr

Today, over on my LinkedIn blog, I shared my two cents about connecting with others on LinkedIn. In short, I’m pretty restrictive in whom I connect with on LinkedIn. I don’t make many connection requests myself (my network is pretty mature), and when it comes to connection requests sent to me, I generally accept those only from people I know in a professional capacity (through offline or online interaction) or whom I know without question can be a resource to me or for whom I can be a resource. Otherwise, I don’t connect.

Every social media site is a little a different, however. I made a commitment to spend less time on Twitter and Facebook this year, for example, so that’s slowed my activity on both sites and made me much less likely to initiate a friend request or follow someone. However, I do still monitor who’s connected to me, and I use these rules of thumb for deciding whether to connect:

  • Facebook: only if I truly consider the person to be a friend (or did at one point). If I know someone only in a professional capacity, I tend to ignore the Facebook friend request and seek to engage on LinkedIn instead.
  • Twitter: I reciprocate most follows from people, UNLESS I know they’re a bot/spammer (rule of thumb: the prettier the face, the more likely it’s fake) or someone with whom I’d rather not connect. I don’t connect with brands unless I consider myself to be a fan or if there’s a reason I want to follow them related to my work.

I use other social media sites, of course, but these are the ones for which I have somewhat hard and fast rules. Twitter is least restrictive, LinkedIn a little more expansive, and Facebook is the most restrictive at all. In fact, with that in mind, it’s probably time for me to do a little housecleaning on all three.

How about you? What guidelines do you use for choosing to invite connections or accept them from others?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My (somewhat unsophisticated) standards for connecting online

  1. Anthony, you said something in one of your Social Media workshops that I never forgot: “Overt self-promotion of yourself for business purposes on Facebook is like a guy showing up at a pool party in a suit.” You have a way of saying things about Social Media that really stick. I’ve applied your clothing analogy to my online interactions: LinkedIn: For people I’ve only seen in their work clothes or business attire. Facebook: For people I’ve seen in their Saturday bum-around clothes. Twitter: For people I’ve seen naked (Just kidding. That would limit it to strangers in the locker room at the gym.)

Leave a Reply

