Stupid

I’d like to spend five minutes with anyone who’s put a QR code on a billboard and have them try to explain to me why they think it’s a good idea. (It’s not.) You see a lot of dumb things in the marketing world, and this is one of the dumbest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stupid

  1. I was just talking about that yesterday the idiotic ways that “new” media is being used in marketing by (sometimes) the old guard… Let’s put some more QR codes on our website!

    A Forrest Gump quote comes to mind. .

  2. Don Kincaid says:

    Agreed. I’ve seen this board in several locations here and in Indianapolis. I don’t understand how it didn’t get stopped somewhere in the creative / approval process.

  3. Anthony, today’s post gave me a good laugh! Can you imagine the size of the scanner for that code? On the flip side, they did just get some free press in the Anthony Juliano blog, so they must be doing something right! 😉

  4. Andy Welfle says:

    Sorta like how Catalyst Marketing had that QR code on their window on Washington Blvd. to hire a “web geek”. I wonder how many car accidents they caused?

  5. Tammy Davis says:

    This has been a frequent topic of (head-shaking, eye-rolling) conversation in my group. It makes no sense at all! Good call.

  6. Pingback: 10 examples of QR code madness | Econsultancy « BertrandCHARLET Weblog

  7. Pingback: 10 Examples of QR code madness « Augmentopia

  8. Pingback: How not to use QR codes | Bad QR Code Examples | The fruitful marketing for small business blog

Leave a comment